Poptropica Scary Stories: The Kindergarten House

Happily, I was able to retrieve the portion of the story I lost, so now it’s posted the day it’s supposed to! ๐Ÿ˜€

Greetings, brave Poptropicans. It is I, Brave Tomato. Just last year, I released my first non-Curious Bee story, a Poptropica Scary Story. Now, October has risen again, and I have become All Hallow’s Brave Tomato once again. This year’s selection of 5 scary stories will be bone-chillers, sending that senseless chill up your spine. I’ll start with a story I’ve waited a long time to get out: The Kindergarten House. Now sit back, grab some popcorn, and let the saga begin!

*disappears in a black mist*

Poptropica Scary Story #6: The Kindergarten House

Mrs. Edith was dead.

Nobody had no clue how it happened, nor why. There was no blood. There was no sign of struggle. There she was, just dead in her sleep. Me and the kids were standing there, gaping in aghast and horror. I’m the oldest of the kids, Calm Heather Walker, and I was one of the 15 children living in the Kindergarten House. We never referred this place to be an orphanage, for it’s just a sad reminder that we once had a bloodline left behind. Some here were abandonded and left here to be under Mrs. Edith’s care, while others were brought here if tragedy took their parents away. Now, Mrs. Edith had been taken away from us, and we never understood why.

The Kindergarten House was nothing more than a house in the middle of a wood. There was nothing more than a dirt trail leading up to it, often covered by snow or leaves. We didn’t care, though. As long as it’s home.

Mr. Trenton was supposed to be our new head of the house, but he never came to the house. He only would come during government inspections and all that official stuff, so I’m the head of the house most of the time.

The children are rarely rowdy, and they’re such a pleasure to have around. The one thing that they are, though, are heavy sleepers. Mrs. Edith used to tell me to wake up the kids every morning with a jack-in-the-box’s tune. The children, eager to begin the day, wake up and get out of their beds. Those were the good times.

When Mrs. Edith died, I was depended on more than ever. It wasn’t fair. I was one of them. We needed a real head of the house. Mr. Trenton never even cared.

And that was before the kids started disappearing.

One day, I was washing the dishes when one of the children, Katie, asked me,

“Miss Heather, have you seen Oliver?”

“Oliver? No, I haven’t…” I responded, looking down at Katie. Oliver was the second oldest in the house, and it wasn’t like him to disappear like that.

I dropped the dish I was cleaning into the sink and walked to look for Oliver.

“Miss Heather!” Katie called after me, “You left the water running! I’ll turn it off for you!”

“Oh, oops, silly me! Thank you, Katie!” I called back.

I searched the entire house, including Mrs. Edith’s old room, which I hated going into. There was no Oliver in sight. Then, I checked outside. I assumed that Oliver could be outside playing with some of the other kids. Nobody was there. Besides, the kids weren’t allowed to play outside unless I was with them, and it wasn’t like Oliver to sneak out.

I tried calling out his name, but I recieved no response. I tried to keep this as secretive as possible in order to keep the kids calm.

However, Oliver’s not the only child missing. As each week came, another child disappeared, each one younger than the previous. I tried to be right in the room of the next child to disappear, but they still do. I never understood.

Four weeks have passed since Oliver disappeared, and there were 5 missing. The children were starting to notice the empty chairs during the meal times. There were only 10 of us left. Katie being the second oldest at 7 and a half, Anya being the youngest at 4. It seems that the disappearances were happening at, besides me, oldest to youngest order. I hated telling the kids about the missing. As soon as I explained the oldest to youngest order, Katie put her hands over her mouth and started to cry. I hated telling them. I really did, but at this point, I had to. I promised Katie that I would stay in her room and make sure she wouldn’t disappear, like the others had.

I stayed in her room that night. I brought a chair in to keep comfortable for the long nights. I resisted any sleep, for I feared that if I fell asleep, she’d be gone. I kept my eyes open, closing them only with blinks.

I stayed up practically all night. From 8:30. Then, I blinked at 3:36. Katie was gone in the blink of an eye. I can’t believe it. Seven hours and six minutes, exactly, she disappeared. I got up and cried out Katie’s name, being careful not to wake up Ron, who was asleep a bed away. It was almost supernatural how she disappeared like that.

“I’m sorry, Katie!” I cried, “I’m so sorry! I shouldn’t have blinked. I failed you, Katie…”

I ran out of the room, crying. Seven hours, six minutes, everything was alright, but in the blink of an eye, she’s disappeared. I don’t believe in the supernatural, but right then and there, I didn’t know what to believe.

It didn’t take long for the kids to notice Katie was gone. However, they didn’t say anything. They glared at me, almost like it’s digging a hole in my chest.

Then, someone finally said something.

“Why is Katie gone?” Anya asked.

“Didn’t you say that you’d protect her?” Ron continued, “Unless you do something about it, I’ll be the one gone next week!”

I didn’t say a word. They’re already scared of the fact that they keep disappearing, but I didn’t want to scare them even more with the fact that something otherworldly was taking them away. Nobody disappears that quickly.

I decided to give them a treat to help calm them down.

“I’ll be right back. I need to get something.”

Sadie, age 5, tugged at my leg. “No, don’t leave!” she cried.

“I’m only going to the little shop right nearby here. I promise that I’ll be back soon,” I responded.

I didn’t want to leave the kids alone, but I wanted to get them something special. I grabbed a bottle of water off the table and exited the house.

The winding dirt road feels like a journey that would last forever. To quicken the time, I went into sprints on the road, sipping my water along the way, until I was on the streets of Hemlock Harbor.

I looked up at the sign, The Gingerbread House, a bakery that was the closest thing to the Kindergarten House. I entered the door, and the sweet smells of sugar, chocolate, fruits, and gingerbread blanketed me. Jane the baker was wiping the counter when I walked in.

“Heather!” she said, smiling, “I haven’t seen you in a while. Come on in!”

“Hi, Jane!” I responded, smiling, “Can I have a batch of those hot cross buns?”

Jane reached into the shelf and put in 15 of the warm pastries. I didn’t bother to ask to reduce the amount by 6.

“How much for the pastries?” I asked.

“You know, Heather, you’re such a sweetheart. Take them. Just this once. This is your 20th visit, and that’s my special number for the free pastries,” Jane responded.

“Great, thanks!” I responded.

“Good night!” Jane said.

I stopped short in my tracks. Good night? Since when? It was the morning when I left…

“Jane?” I asked, “What time is it?”

“8:25,” Jane responded, “Why?”

8:25?! It can’t be possible for time to go that fast! It was 9:23 AM when I left, and I felt like I’ve only been here for a few minutes.

I got out of the house and picked up the nearby Hemlock Herald article, like I did every time I went out. The date said October 13. And… today was supposed to be September 3rd! I dropped the paper and ran for the house.

At night, it was almost impossible to see where you were going in the woods. There was no moonlight to lead the way. There was hardly any light of any kind.

After following my feet on the dirt trail, I ended up in front of the Kindergarten House. It doesn’t have that welcoming feeling, anymore. The moonless night made the house have a blue-ish aura around it. Slowly, I walked inside.

“Hello? Kids?” I asked, looking around, “I got you some hot cross buns! I know you love them!”

There was no response at all. I continued walking down the dark hallway, trying to call out their names. There was nothing. It can’t be October 13th. It’s September 3rd. It has to be.

I looked at the staircase leading up to the childrens’ room.

It was the jack-in-the-box I used to wake up the kids in the morning.

It was painted differently, though. Red and black now cover the jack in the box, and stars, cresent moons, and hearts are now scribbled onto the box too. I kneeled down at the jack-in-the-box’s area and started slowly turning the handle.

The music played melodramatically, echoing throughout the Kindergarten House. I stopped turning the crank the note before the clown would pop up. I took the second to take a deep breath. Then I turned the crank a notch.

The clown popped up like it normally does, but I jumped back anyways. I looked up and saw something written on the walls…

At that very moment, a hand grabbed onto my foot and pulled me down. I screamed at the top of my lungs.

I was pulled backwards towards the playroom and down stairs I’ve never seen before.

Then the pulling stopped.

I quickly got myself up and tried to head back upstairs. The secret passage that kept these stairs secret shut itself. I banged on the door, crying.

“Help! Anyone! HELP!”

A girl appeared in front of me and pushed me down the stairs. Each stair I hit caused a sharp pain in my arms and legs. I finally got up and looked around the hidden basement.

It was a demented version of a playroom. There were teddy bears everywhere. One of them is squished in a dollhouse painted black. One is being hung by the neck with a jump rope. Another one has a small plunger embedded on where its heart would be. The girl reappeared in front of me. She had blue-black hair tied back in two braids and pale white skin. Her eyes were completly black except for its red pupils. She wore a torn pink dress and has a scar on her face.

I tried not to think about it, really did.

I stammered to the spirit, staring in her souless eyes, “Who are you?! I mean, what are you?! I mean-”

“It’s been a long time,” she whispered somberly yet sinisterly, “the time potion really did well.”

The time potion? What was she talking about? She thrusted her arm out and my water bottle flew out of my bag that held the hot cross buns. I looked closer at the water bottle. There were purple specks flying about in the water. She transformed my water bottle into a potion that made me unaware of the passing of time!

Then I slowly looked at the girl. Her face seems so familiar. A button-like nose. Small lips that would make any word sound innocent. Then I blinked and took a step forward.

“…Anya?”

Anya nodded her head. The youngest girl in the Kindergarten House….

“We’ve waited here a long time for you,” Anya said, “you’ve abandoned us. Left us to disappear.”

13 more kids emerged from the shadow. All of them have palened to white, their hair now a raven color, and their eyes have become jet black. Not even red pupils were present. Why was Anya the only one with red pupils?

“My fellow brothers and sisters,” Anya said, “the girl who had abandoned you has returned. She left you for me to take you easily.”

“Wait, you’re the one responsible for the kids’ disappearances?!” I asked.

The kids who had been taken by Anya started chanting a poem, getting closer to me with every step.

Six hours, sixty-six minutes into sleep

The girl comes and takes your soul to reap

Let the nightmares come sit back and unwind

For when you would wake, you’d rather be in your mind

Although her appearance may seem as meek as a mouse

Beware the youngest girl in the Kindergarten House.

(New! Click here to check out the song! )

Six hours and sixty-six minutes? I got up again to try and run. I didn’t care if the door was shut or whatever it’s supposed to be. My feet felt heavy with every step I took. I slammed into the closed door. Without turning around, I slammed it again. I didn’t want to turn around at all. I slammed into it again. And again. And again. Then, I felt a cold hand on my ankle. I finally turned around to see who grabbed me. Oliver wouldn’t let go, and he just pulled me down, like Anya had when I ended up down here.

I screamed an unearthly cry, knowing that I was unheard. I was pulled down the stairs again.

Then, the children said in unison:

“Why did you leave us?”

“Because she is a selfish brat, like Mr. Trenton is,” Anya said, “She doesn’t care about us. She only cares for herself. She proved to us that she’s nowhere near loving us. She wants us to die here, without food, water, or comfort! She wants us to perish! She wants me to take you all! She’s the reason why you’re all like this in the first place.”

I gaped, “No! That’s not true! There was something in the water I drank, and-”

My mouth became covered by a bandana, and I was tied up by jump ropes.

“My fellow brothers and sisters,” Anya said, holding a head of a teddy bear in one hand and its body in another, “we shall burn this devil of a place down. And we shall burn Heather along with it!”

Anya floated towards an electrical outlet and caused some sparks to fly. The sparks hit the wooden floor, and a flame sparked. I screamed into my bandana.

“Goodbye, Heather. May the flames play with you, since you no longer bother to play with us!” Anya shouted. She and the other 13 kids disappeared.

So this was how I was going to die. With a bandana tied around my mouth, and tied up by JUMP ROPES becoming a roasted Calm Heather Walker. The flames spread, burning the teddy bear with a plunger on its chest to ashes. I closed my eyes and prepared to be burned alive.

However, I felt something against my jump ropes, as if it was cutting it. I looked as the jump ropes cut off each strand, until I was able to get myself free. I ran out of the area, and saw the floor I was laying on burn away. I would’ve been in that fire. I ran up the stairs to find that the door was open. I bolted out of the secret basement/ playroom/ torture-chamber. The flames were creeping up behind me and started to affect the walls of the regular playroom. I ran towards the front door. There it is. I’m home free. Then a force knocked me back. Dangit. Anya appeared in front of me.

“Did you think it was going to be that easy to escape me?!” Anya scoffed.

“What exactly are you, Anya?!” I asked, her, bravely.

Anya frowned, “It doesn’t matter what I am. What does matter is that you are not getting out of this house alive.”

“I need to know, Anya!” I yelled back, “You’re not normal! What are you?!”

Anya forced me down onto the floor. “Shut the heck up, Heather! Like I said, it doesn’t matter what I am! The flames are coming closer. I must leave. You must stay. You shall die.”

Anya disappeared in a black mist, and I watched as the flames circled me. I was stuck in place. Nowhere to go. I tried to get up, but a force is not allowing me. I closed my eyes, waiting to feel the burn of the inferno I’m surrounded by.

The daylight woke me up. I opened one eye, then two. I shot up, and looked all around me.

I was sleeping in ashes. What was left of the Kindergarten House is now ash and black. I’m probably dead. I looked around for a second, getting myself up. There were sharp pains in my back, arms, and legs. There was also a pain in my throat for screaming. I walked around, seeing what little was left. I felt solid. I was breathing.

I was alive?

But how?

Then, I saw something in the ashes. I kneeled down and removed the ash-covered object.

It was the jack in the box. It wasn’t burned down at all.

Right then and there, it hit me. All of the kids I had cared for are gone. One of them is a devil or something, and I was the last child of the Kindergarten House.

I still remember their laughter when they played. Whether it’d be jacks or being chased during a game of tag outside on a warm summer day. Their youthful innocence, taken away so soon because of a malicious person named Anya, or whatever she really is.

A tear went down my cheek and I closed my eyes. I decided to turn the crank of the jack in the box one more time. The tune echoed throughout the forest, and it was so heart-wrenching to hear.

Once again, I stopped before the note the clown will pop out on. I took a deep breath and gave the crank a notch of a turn.

The clown popped up like it normally does. It was even fully functional. A piece of paper flew out of the jack in the box, and I was hesitant before I grabbed it. I opened the piece of paper and read.

That was all it said. I looked around, and there was no one in sight.

Did Mrs. Edith protect me?

This did look like her handwriting. And also, with me being cut out of the jump ropes and being protected from the fire also raised my suspicions.

I needed to find out what to do now that I’m homeless. In the meantime, I headed on the dirt trail, carrying the jack-in-the-box with me.

And for once, I didn’t look back to the Kindergarten House. โ˜…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Brave Tomato. Bookmark the permalink.

About Brave Tomato

Hey guys, my name is Brave Tomato, and Iโ€™m an 19-year old girl from New Jersey. Iโ€™ve been a Poptropica Help blogger for 5 years, and I'm also a fan artist, fanfiction writer, occasional theorist, Youtuber, and an all around superfan nerd for Poptropica. My username is 1313cookie if you'd like to friend me.

45 thoughts on “Poptropica Scary Stories: The Kindergarten House

  1. This is possibly your best written work, the dialogue, explanations, and the plot being as good as those written by many professional authors. Also very convincing characters, and, like all good short horror stories, the exact ending is unclear. 5/5 stars.

  2. ok seriously, it is areally cool story. I recored myself reading it to send to my BFF. Its really awsome and scary. I usually don`t like scary stories but I loved this one.I love all the stories here. They are so cool. Great work! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. BTW, I hope you don`t mind that I recored it. If you do I`m really sorry. I haven`t sent it yet, I can deleat the recording if you want. ๐Ÿ™‚ =^.^=

Discuss here, Poptropicans!

